The “Jane Austen Adaptation” genre gets a shot in the arm with Emma. (and yes, the period is part of the title; it is a period piece, after all). Directed by Autumn de Wilde, Emma. tells the story of the wannabe matchmaker whose mischievous meddling winds up causing more trouble than intended. In the early 1800s, social standing and marrying the right person was the difference between living in squalor and being set for life. In 2020, times have changed, but things aren’t so different; maybe that’s why Jane Austen’s work continues to inspire readers of all ages, even 200 years later.

Anya Taylor-Joy stars as the title character, while the supporting cast is filled out by the likes of Mia Goth, Johnny Flynn, Callum Turner, and Bill Nighy. Josh O’Connor plays Mr. Elton, the local vicar who finds himself to be a piece on one of Emma’s matchmaking schemes. He’s an interesting character; like most of Austen’s most beloved literary figures, he’s special for being a complicated and dimensional character, even before he is brought into Emma’s game. As for O’Connor, he’s arguably best known for his role in Netflix’s The Crown, though he’s also earned significant acclaim for his roles in British films like Only You and God’s Own Country.

While promoting the release of Emma., Josh O’Connor spoke to Screen Rant about his work on the film, from his personal history with Austen to his positive working relationship with director Autumn de Wilde. He talks about having to share Bill Nighy with his castmates (the two star in another 2020 film, Hope Gap), and explains why Mr. Elton’s unabashed – possibly unjustified – confidence makes him a sex symbol.

Emma. is out now in select theaters, and expands nationwide on March 6.

First of all, I love the movie. I thought it was so cool. It felt modern and hip, but also so true to the original story and the period in which it’s set.

Let it be modern on its own, yes!

I think that’s true. A lot of the time, with Austen, people find themselves trying to make it more “palatable” or more “relevant.” Those are the buzzwords that always come back. But what Autumn has done is, she’s said, “No, let’s embrace what Austen has created, that world. Let’s re-create that and let it be modern by embracing it.”

Yes, it feels modern just by how it bounces off what we understand as modern viewers who aren’t really more advanced than these people from generations ago. I got to chat with Autumn, and she was amazing. Every time I asked something, the conversation would inevitably turn into something about our favorite bands.

We were looking at reference photos for Mr. Elton, and what priests, or vicars, or clergymen would have worn in that period. I was looking at them going, “Autumn, this is kind of rubbish!” In my head, I was like, I want to make Elton think he’s the sexiest man in this film. If he walks into a room with Frank Churchill or Mr. Knightley, he’d be totally unphased because he thinks God created him in His vision, and he’s the perfect human being. And yet, I was looking at these images of the priests’ costumes, or uniforms, or whatever you want to call them, and they didn’t look sexy! But Autumn was like, “No, forget that! Let’s stay true to it. You make it sexy. You think it’s God’s work.” By embracing things like that, by being true to it, it makes it relevant, makes it truthful. I’m glad you liked that as much as I did!

That’s so Autumn. Did you bond with her over any music?

(Laughs) That’s so true.

How did this movie wind up on your radar?

Yes. We bonded over so many things. Music was one of them. What’s amazing about Autumn is how she got along so well with so many people. She was tight with us all. Bands are obviously her passion. For me and her, we talked a lot about our love of art and photography and stuff like that. We got on great. She gets on with everyone. She’s so incredible.

A water food?

Basically, I was in between series three and series four of The Crown. I had a few months off, and my plan was to take some time out. I said, quite clearly, that I wasn’t going to take any meetings… But then someone mentioned they were going to make a remake of Emma, and that kinda piqued my interest. Then I got a phone call from my agent, saying Autumn is going to make it and to come meet her. I didn’t know who Autumn de Wilde was, but I thought she had a great name, and then I had breakfast with her. She presented me with this box, an intricate box full of ideas, and visuals of what the film might look like, and I was totally gripped. We just hit it off. I also remember one moment where she described cucumber as a “water food,” and that was the clincher for me.

Oh, I will! So, this is probably something you’ve been asked a million times, but I want the Screen Rant version. What was your first exposure to Jane Austen? How far back does your relationship with her work go?

She was like, “Look at this. It’s a water food.” I was just like, that’s amazing. Who says that? You can quote me on that.

Speaking of Clueless, did you experience any baggage from how many times this story has been adapted in the past, or did that all just go away once you were doing your version? Were those other performances in the back of your mind?

For me, I learned about her at school. I think we read it at school when I was 15. I remember being fairly disinterested, understandably… You’re interested in other things when you’re 15! But I loved Clueless. I still think Clueless is a great movie. Through that, I rediscovered it. As soon as I knew they were making this film, I revisited it and remembered how brilliant it was, how brilliant these characters are, Elton in particular. I always remember, in class, reading about Elton, thinking that’s extraordinary. That was the kind of part I would want to play. So it’s a really nice thing for me to now have a go at it.

It’s definitely got a different energy than one might expect after watching, say, the Keira Knightley Pride & Prejudice… Which I also like very much, but it’s way more “old timey,” as it were.

I think I’m generally quite good at being able to put things in the past and let them go, as it were. I think, certainly, with Autumn, she has this way of. – and this is why she’s such a great filmmaker – she has this way of making you feel like this is a brand new piece of literature, or a brand new story. In a weird way, the idea that it is Emma, the Jane Austen novel, doesn’t really add up to me! It’s weird, I can’t explain it as much, since the film is so true to the language, to the world, it all exists, but it also feels unique. It never felt like we were adapting or revisiting something. It felt like a brand new story. I don’t know if that makes sense.

I’m asking everyone this question, because he’s one of my favorite actors: was every second with Bill Nighy a gift?

Yes, exactly. I think Jane Austen is like Shakespeare, in a slightly different way. I think people will continue to revisit these stories because they remain relevant, regardless of how you do them. Austen is different from Shakespeare. With Shakespeare, it’s more about humanity, but with Austen, these are recognizable characters who surprise you. With Emma, I’m surprised at how sympathetic you feel towards her. She’s a terrible ass most of the way through the film! And yet, you kind of forgive her and see that she’s trying, and then you’re totally romanced by her story. I think they will continue to have that power.

You said you were friends already. Had you worked together before?

I know Autumn’s answer to that! She’s best mates with him, now. But me and Bill were friends before, and have been very good friends for a while. I remember talking to him about this project. We sat down to have a coffee and were like, oh my God, we’re both doing Emma, it’s going to be thrilling! If you ask anyone on Emma who didn’t know Bill before, they’d say he’s amazing and brilliant. Obviously, it is, and it’s always the best thing in the world to spend time with Bill. He’s the best company. For me, it’s quite hard because I’m jealous at having to share him with anyone else! He’s the best thing ever created. He’s the kindest, warmest, most brilliant man. It was a pleasure.

More: Screen Rant’s Emma. Review

We did a film the year before, called Hope Gap. He played my dad and Annette Benning played my mom. It hasn’t come out yet. At some point in the near future, it will be out.

Emma. is out now in select theaters, and expands nationwide on March 6.